Heads of Department of Mathematical Sciences

About Us
Annual Conference
Contact Us


The first ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING on 14th September 1995 was convened for the

Conference of Heads of Departments of Mathematical Sciences at University College, Gower Street, London.

Graham Wilks, the first chair of the conference of HoDoMS, outlined preliminary ideas for a meeting on the theme of overcoming fragmentation in the mathematics community.

Joining HoDoMS

HoDoMS currently has approximately 50 members from the (roughly) 80 Departments/sub-Departments of Mathematical Sciences across the UK. There is a small annual membership fee for Departments which covers operating costs and allows HoDoMS to undertake occasional projects on behalf of the community it represents. New members are welcome - details of how to pay the subscription are provided at the following link:


Communications are carried out via an email list, MATHSHEADS@jiscmail.ac.uk. To request to join the list please contact Professor Catherine Hobbs, Catherine.hobbs@uwe.ac.uk.

Current Officers

Chair: Professor Philip Aston, University of Surrey, p.aston@surrey.ac.uk.

Vice-Chair: Professor Peter Clarkson, University of Kent, P.A.Clarkson@kent.ac.uk

Secretary: Dr Mary McAlinden, University of Greenwich, M.McAlinden@greenwich.ac.uk

Treasurer: Professor Jan van den Heuvel, LSE, j.van-den-heuvel@lse.ac.uk

Committee Members

Professor Catherine Hobbs, University of the West of England, Bristol, Catherine.hobbs@uwe.ac.uk (Immediate Past-Chair)

Dr Jeff Waldock, Sheffield Hallam University, j.waldock@shu.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Golden, University of the West of England Bristol, kevin.golden@uwe.ac.uk

Dr Matthias Maischak, Brunel University, Matthias.maischak@brunel.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Fairclough, University of Wolverhampton, r.fairclough@wlv.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Langdon, University of Reading, s.langdon@reading.ac.uk

Dr Anke Wiese, Heriot-Watt University, A.Wiese@hw.ac.uk

Mr Michael Grove, University of Birmingham (IMA representative)

Professor Paul Harper, University of Cardiff (OrSoc representative)

Professor Ian L. Dryden, University of Nottingham (RSS representative)

Professor Stephen Huggett, University of Plymouth (LMS representative)